Diva's News Flash - No Doubt's New Album Release

Diva's News Flash - No Doubt's New Album Release
Scheduled for release, Monday 7 January, 2002

The members of No Doubt are pleased to announce that their fifth album Rock Stready will be released in Australia on Monday January 7, 2002. The collection was recorded throughout 2001 with a variety of producers at a number of international locations.

The pride of Orange County, California, No Doubt, (Gwen Stefani, Tom Dumont, Tony Kanal, Adrian Young), have recently been on tour in the US with label mates U2. This has given the band the opportunity to perform music from Rock Steady live for the first time, including ``Hey Baby'' and ``Hella Good.'' Tony Kanal says of the shows: ``It's been a great chance to try out some of our new songs. The U2 crowds have been really great to us every night.''

No Doubt will be the musical guest on ``Saturday Night Live'' on December 15. As well, No Doubt recently performed at the My VH1 Music Awards in Los Angeles on December 2 and on December 4 at the Billboard Music Awards in Las Vegas.

The eye-catching video for ``Hey Baby,'' which was directed by Dave Meyers, was recently Channel V's Ripe Clip with the single receiving major radio additions on Sydney's Nova 969, Triple J, the Austereo Network and a host of metro and regional radio stations across the country. "Hey Baby" is released in Australia on Monday 10 December.

The new album is named for one of the last songs to be included. Says Gwen Stefani, ``Rock Steady" is where we are as a band right now. Stay the course, keep focused. Like the song says, 'A real love survives, a rock steady vibe.' It could just as well be describing No Doubt, our band, after all these years.''

The producers who contributed to "Rock Steady" comprise a staggering and eclectic list of studio masters including acclaimed producer/remixer, Nellee Hooper (U2, Bjork), ambient pioneer and omnipresent dance remixer, William Orbit (Madonna, Blur), former Cars frontman Ric Ocasek (Weezer, Guided By Voices), reggae's drum and bass duo Sly & Robbie, dancehall-reggae's dominant production team Steely & Clevie (Shabba Ranks, Maxi Priest), up-and-coming hip-hop producers The Neptunes (Mystikal, Jay-Z) and inventive hip-hop producer Timbaland (Missy Elliot, Nas).

"Rock Steady" was recorded in Los Angeles, Jamaica, and London and runs the musical gamut, incorporating dancehall-reggae, classic new wave, and R&B with the band's signature, high-energy sound. It's No Doubt's fifth album, following their 1992 eponymous debut; the self-released THE BEACON STREET COLLECTION (1995); their multi-platinum breakthrough TRAGIC KINGDOM (also 1995) and RETURN OF SATURN (2000).


Copyright © 2001 - Girl.com.au, a Trillion.com Company - All rights reserved.