One Direction

One Direction

One Direction are an English-Irish pop boy band based in London, composed of Niall Horan, Liam Payne, Harry Styles, Louis Tomlinson, and, until his departure from the band in 2015, Zayn Malik. The group signed with Simon Cowell's record label Syco Records after forming and finishing third in the seventh series of the British televised singing competition The X Factor in 2010. Propelled to international success by social media, One Direction's five albums, Up All Night (2011), Take Me Home (2012), Midnight Memories (2013), Four (2014), and Made in the A.M. (2015), topped charts in most major markets, and generated hit singles including "What Makes You Beautiful", "Live While We're Young", "Best Song Ever", "Story of My Life" and "Drag Me Down".

Their awards include six Brit Awards, four MTV Video Music Awards, eleven MTV Europe Music Awards, seven American Music Awards (including Artist of the Year in 2014 and 2015), and 28 Teen Choice Awards. One Direction was a $50 million business empire by 2012 and were proclaimed 2012's "Top New Artist" by Billboard. By 2013, they had an estimated personal combined wealth of £25 million ($41.2 m). The International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI) honored them as the Global Recording Artist of 2013. In 2015, Forbes ranked them the fourth highest earning celebrities in the world, and second in 2016.

After the release of Four, One Direction became the first band in the US Billboard 200 history to have their first four albums debut at number one. Their third album, Midnight Memories, was the best-selling album worldwide of 2013. The band's Where We Are Tour in support of Midnight Memories and Four, was the highest-grossing concert tour in 2014, and the highest-grossing tour ever by a vocal group, generating $282 million. In 2014, Billboard named One Direction Artist of the Year. The band went on hiatus in January 2016, allowing all members to pursue other projects. As of 2017, the band has sold a total of 50 million records worldwide.

Albums/Movies/TV Shows


Made In The A.M.

Made In The A.M. Tracks
1 Hey Angel 3:22
2 Drag Me Down 3:12
3 Perfect 3:49
4 Infinity 4:08
5 End Of The Day 3:15
6 If I Could Fly 3:58
7 Long Way Down 2:37
8 Never Enough 3:30
9 Olivia 3:01
10 What A Feeling 3:19
11 Love You Goodbye 3:45
12 I Want To Write You A Song 2:56
13 History 3:16
14 Temporary Fix 2:56
15 Walking In The Wind 3:22
16 Wolves 4:01
17 A.M. 3:27



Four is the fourth studio album by English-Irish boy band One Direction, released on 17 November 2014 by Columbia Records and Syco Music. Two singles were released from the album, "Steal My Girl" and "Night Changes", both achieving platinum status in the US, and scoring the band their tenth and eleventh UK top-ten hits.

Genre: Pop

Release date: Nov 17, 2014

Four Tracks
1 Steal My Girl 5:19
2 Ready To Run 3:16
3 Where Do Broken Hearts Go? 3:46
4 18 4:09
5 Girl Almighty 3:23
6 Fool's Gold 3:32
7 Night Changes 4:01
8 No Control 3:21
9 Fireproof 2:54
10 Spaces 4:16
11 Stockholm Syndrome 3:39
12 Clouds 3:50
13 Change Your Ticket 4:26
14 Illusion 3:15
15 Once In A Lifetime 2:38
16 Act My Age 3:19


Midnight Memories

Midnight Memories is the third studio album by the British-Irish boy band One Direction, released on 25 November 2013 by Columbia Records, Syco Music and Sony Music. The album was described as having a "slightly rockier tone" than their previous efforts. It has become the fastest-selling album in Amazon UK's history, breaking the record set by One Direction's previous release, Take Me Home (2012). The album debuted at number one on the US Billboard 200, making One Direction the first group in history to debut at number one in the US with their first three albums. The album was preceded by the release of the singles "Best Song Ever" and "Story of My Life".

Genre: Pop, pop rock

Release date: Nov 25, 2013

Midnight Memories Tracks
1 Best Song Ever 6:13
2 Story Of My Life 4:08
3 Diana 3:05
4 Midnight Memories 3:21
5 You & I 4:05
6 Don't Forget Where You Belong 4:00
7 Strong 3:03
8 Happily 2:56
9 Right Now 3:20
10 Little Black Dress 2:36
11 Through The Dark 3:41
12 Something Great 3:54
13 Little White Lies 3:19
14 Better Than Words 3:30
15 Why Don't We Go There 2:54
16 Does He Know? 3:00
17 Alive 2:39
18 Half A Heart 3:06


Take Me Home

Take Me Home is the second studio album by British-Irish group One Direction, released on 9 November 2012 by Sony Music Entertainment. As a follow-up to One Direction's internationally successful debut album, Up All Night (2011), Take Me Home was written in groups and has an average of just under five songwriters per track. Largely recorded and composed in Sweden during 2012, Savan Kotecha, Rami Yacoub and Carl Falk, who composed One Direction's hits, "What Makes You Beautiful" and "One Thing", spent six months in Stockholm developing songs for the album, and were able to shape melodies around the members' tones.

Genre: Pop

Release date: Nov 9, 2012

Take Me Home Tracks
1 Live While We're Young 3:18
2 Kiss You 3:11
3 Little Things 3:38
4 C'mon, C'mon 2:48
5 Last First Kiss 3:21
6 Heart Attack 3:01
7 Rock Me 3:20
8 Change My Mind 3:34
9 I Would 3:20
10 Over Again 3:10
11 Back For You 3:00
12 They Don't Know About Us 3:20
13 Summer Love 3:31
14 She's Not Afraid 3:11
15 Loved You First 3:11
16 Nobody Compares 3:32
17 Still The One 3:06
18 Truly Madly Deeply 3:03
19 Magic 3:07
20 Irresistible 3:55


Up All Night

Up All Night is the debut studio album by English-Irish group One Direction, released by Syco Records in November 2011 in Ireland and the United Kingdom, followed by a worldwide release during 2012. Four months after finishing third in the seventh series of British reality singing contest The X Factor in December 2010, One Direction began recording the album in Sweden, UK and the United States, working with a variety of writers and producers. The album is predominantly a pop music album which orientates into pop rock, dance-pop, teen pop and power pop. The album's lyrical content regards being young, relationships, heartbreak and empowerment. Staged in support of the album, One Direction performed the album's songs live on televised shows, at awards ceremonies, and during their worldwide Up All Night Tour.

Genre: Pop

Release date: Nov 18, 2011

Up All Night Tracks
1 What Makes You Beautiful 3:27
2 Gotta Be You 3:56
3 One Thing 3:18
4 More Than This 3:51
5 Up All Night 3:14
6 I Wish 3:37
7 Tell Me A Lie 3:19
8 Taken 3:58
9 I Want 2:51
10 Everything About You 3:38
11 Same Mistakes 3:39
12 Save You Tonight 3:26
13 Stole My Heart 3:24
14 Stand Up 2:54
15 Moments 4:25
16 Forever Young 3:43

Related Content